Posted by: Moggle | October 23, 2009

Chop socky

Hurrah, I finished my socks!

Pomatomus finished 2

Pattern: Pomatomus by Cookie A

Yarn: Natural Dye Studio Merino/Bamboo

Needle: 2.75mm Knitpicks circular

Mods: None (although several mistakes!)

Pomatomus finished 1

I enjoyed knitting these socks. As with Monkey, the lace pattern was intuitive so I knew what was coming next and didn’t need to look at the chart much. Apart from the foot. There was a fair bit of frogging and tinking on the foot because the lace pattern changes a lot there to compensate for it only being on the top of the foot and I kept getting it wrong.

Cookie A socks make my brain hurt a bit. I’ve come to the conclusion that I shouldn’t knit any of her socks back-to-back.

For my next pair of socks I wanted something simple and fast. I promised my mother-in-law ages ago I would make her some socks. I even dyed up some yarn in colours I knew she’d like. I came up with a simple but lacy design for her. I’m liking how the yarn is knitting up (‘Quickset’ colourway) and if I like the finished socks I’ll be publishing the pattern.

Quickset sock 16_10

B-side cardigan is finished and blocking. Just needs buttons and a semi-sunny day to take the FO photos.

Responses

  1. What a great color for the Pomatomuses (Pomatomi?). Since they remind me of fish scales, I just love them in aqua and other watery colors.

  2. Those socks are gorgeous – what a lovley colour. The pomotomus socks always remind me of a mermaid.

  3. I love the job you did with the socks! I agree with Emilee that the color is absolutely fantastic.

  4. The colour of the yarn for the pomatomus socks is perfect for the pattern! Very interested in seeing what those blue socks look like 🙂

  5. Oooooh, great-looking Poms. Perfect colour, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

