Posted by: Moggle | October 26, 2009

B-side: finished and fluffy

b side 1

Pattern: B-Side cardigan by Laura Chau

Yarn: Sublime Angora Merino

Needle: 3.5mm Knitpicks Harmony

Mods: Worked a larger size at a guage of 25 sts instead of 24 (as specified in the pattern) and knitted sleeves from the top-down (vaguely outlined in this post).

b side 3

I worked the fluffy yarn at a tighter than reccomended guage to try to control the fluff factor and prevent it pilling too badly. I’m not entirely sure how successful this is going to be. This yarn doesn’t just have a halo – it’s more like an aura.

b side 2

I’d only worn this for a couple of hours on Saturday night before taking these photos yesterday morning and you can see it’s starting to pill slightly already.

b side 4

Despite that I’m incredibly happy with the finished item. It fits almost perfectly and I love the collar.

It kept me lovely and warm on the station platform while I waited for my train this morning!

Responses

  1. Cardigan looks fab and you look STUNNING in these pics!! X

  2. I love it!

  3. That color looks fantastic on you!

  4. It’s gorgeous! And, another one to add to my queue. Hmmm coincidence that the gauge is good for Felted Tweed…

    I’m interested in trying that sleeve method – do you get ‘Yarn’ from Australia? There was an article on it last year sometime, I was wondering how similar the way you did it was.

  5. It’s absolutely gorgeous. The colour suits you very well. Glad to hear as well that it’s very warm, it’s noticeable colder, so warmer clothes are becoming more and more important now.

  6. You can always clip the pills off from time to time until they stop forming.

  7. Lovely cardi! It looks great on you!

  8. Lovely! Purple is my favourite colour, as you know, and it looks so soft and snuggly :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories

