Posted by: Moggle | January 10, 2010

Best of 2009

My FOs on Ravelry

1. Your best FO of the year

Handspun Opulent Raglan

2. Best FO of the year made by a blog you link to, or through Ravelry.

I loved seeing all the projects made with The Thylacine yarn and fibre on Ravelry this year. I can’t pick one favourite but a couple of my favourites from this year are

More than 198 Yards in BFL/Silk

Liz’s Damson in Superwash Merino/Seacell (or see it in my blog post from Fibrefest)

Jacques Cousteau Hat in grey merino

3. Best yarn you tried

Smoothie Sock from Artist’s Palette

4. Best new book/mag/pattern of 2009

Jared Flood – Made in Brooklyn. I don’t own a copy of this but the patterns are just gorgeous.

5. Best new fibrecraft technique or gadget you tried in 2009

This technique for navajo/chain plying

6. Designer who most amazed & inspired you throughout the year

Kate Davies (who blogs here). I love her owls jumper and I’m so tempted to make the paper dolls colourwork sweater (even though I know it would look horrible on me). I’m still waiting for the pattern for her ‘Manu’ cardigan to come out, and I’m also hoping she decides to release a pattern for this dress.

7. Knitting & Spinning resolutions for 2010–what’s next for you and your blog?

a) Finish Ivy League. Following on from one of last year’s resolution – I still haven’t beat the steek.

b) Finish Print-o-the-wave. I love the yarn and the pattern. I think I might order some knitpro wooden needles to provide a bit more grip. I might also try to dedicate a couple of hours on a particular night every week to work on this and Ivy League as they both require a bit of concentration.

c) Reduce stash. I still wouldn’t say I had a huge stash (unless you count the shelves full of shop stock) but it’s got quite big lately. I need to crank out a couple more sweaters!

d) Knit ‘Thermal’. The yarn for this is probably the oldest in my stash. And I still love the pattern. I just need to get on with it!

e) Knit something from Victorian Lace Today. This was one of my resolutions from last year which I didn’t achieve and I’m carrying over to this year. I might try to spin some laceweight and knit one of the simpler bordered scarves.

f) Continue to expand The Thylacine, attend Wonderwool and Woolfest, and cut down ‘day job’ hours more.

Responses

  1. You’ve knitted some really classy things this year. I love the purple cardigan (I think you were worried about it pilling!). Good luck with achieving your goals this year too.

  2. Thanks for the mention — greatly appreciated! 🙂

  3. Looks like a fantastic 2009!


Leave a Reply

Categories

