Posted by: Moggle | February 14, 2010

Making progress

The jumper of doom is nearly complete. I am probably about half way throught the yoke and it seems like the end is in sight.

It’s now so big that it’s impossible to take anywhere, so I have been able to go back to knitting Mr M’s incredibly late Christmas socks on the train and at work. All I need to do now is cast off – I’m thinking of trying the one from Knitty that Brenda Dayne recommended in her podcast a couple of months ago.

I’ve started my preparation for Wonderwool and Woolfest. I dyed up 3kg of Oatmeal BFL and Oatmeal BFL/Silk on Friday. I’ve also been developing some new colourways and trying out some new yarns.

There’s some Superwash BFL/Nylon sock, some Superwash Merino/Seacell, Silk/Seacell laceweight, Silk/Camel and Alpaca Soy in there. The Alpaca/Soy is my favourite and I’m going to get a LOT more of that in.

I’m liking how the days are slowly getting longer and it feels like spring is on the way. I really can’t wait to get this jumper done and to get back to some fun projects for me!

Responses

  1. GORGEOUS colourways – I’ll have to look out for you at Wonderwool!

  2. I will definitely be buying some more of your yarn when I see you at Wonderwool. I’m a sucker for anything with blues and turquoises or purples. Mmmm, need to get saving my pennies!

  3. You might want to check out Jenny’s surprisingly stretchy bind-off, it’s somewhere on Knitty.com (and Youtube?), and it’s even better than EZ’s sewn bind-off for a stretchy edge to toe-up socks. No need to estimate the amount of yarn still required, it’s a modification of an ordinary knit cast-off but surprisingly stretchy 🙂

  4. Very good progress! Congrats.


Leave a Reply

Categories

