Posted by: Moggle | April 28, 2010

Wonderwool, the aftermath

This was my stall set up at Wonderwool. A little bare, but a definite improvement on Fibrefest.

You can see better in this photo how I tried to graduate the colours from green in the bottom-left to pink in the top-right.

Although the display in the shelving (custom-made by Mr M) looked nice, people seemed hesitant to pull out the yarn and have a closer look. So on the Sunday we got an extra table and laid out all the yarn for people to be able to see better. I think next time I’m going to ask Mr M to make a second unit with a different construction to hang the skeins on so they can be seen better.

I was even more restrained than at Fibrefest. I only bought a skein of undyed yarn in a new blend. And a stitch dictionary I’ve been eyeing up online.

I met lots and lots of fabulous customers and/or Ravellers and it was really wonderful to put some faces to names/ravatars. I had a great time and although I’m still tired I can’t wait for the next one.

The first batch of remaining stock has already been uploaded to the shop.

Responses

  1. I do agree, having been to IKnit twice, it’s much easier to squidge yarn when it’s on a table, rather than taking skeins off shelving. It just seems a bit less threatening as a buyer, if you understand what I mean. Glad you had fun. I shall have to visit your online shop to see what’s left!

  2. Congratulations! I really hope I’ll be able to come to Woolfest to support you but even if not I now have a finished pair of knee length socks in Scarpantoni for you to display (just to show off how much yardage there is in one of those skeins).

  3. Your stall looked lovely – the effort you put into the colour gradation paid off and your yarn was scrummy; I just yanked away regardless on the Saturday pm. Plus the bottle-greenish ball of loveliness I bought is knitting up a treat.

    Many thanks, and glad you enjoyed it… we (the visitors, as opposed to stallholders) certainly did…


Leave a Reply

Categories

